Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
J
OP Offline
J
Mr. Champaigne,
Please allow me the liberty of introducing myself via this email as I would appreciate your help with some education on classifying grit size.
I am a corrosion engineer working at Kennedy Space Center and currently have some oversight on a depainting and coating project.
I have attached a spreadsheet <> that hopefully you can follow so that you can straighten me out.
Please feel free to call me for discussion as I think I need it.
Sincerely and thank you,
Joe

Joseph J. Curran
ASRC Aerospace: Engineer (Work Control)
mail stop: ASRC-09
Kennedy Space Center, Fl 32899
(321) 867-7558 work (321) 794-3078 cell
http://www.shotpeener.com/ubb/images_misc/grit_size.xls

J
OP Offline
J
---Response from Bob Gillespie---
Jack:

Joe Curran has a good point. Table 1 in SAE J444 is for Cast Shot sizing
and uses the min-min designation. It also indicates in the footnote of
Table 1 that the sieves used "Corresponds to ISO Recommendations", so there
appears to be an effort to agree with ISO. Table 2 is for Cast Grit sizing
with the same ISO footnote. However, it does not indicate either min-min
or max-min for the cumulative % values in Table 2. One could assume that
since Table 1 uses min-min values, Table 2 would also. According to Joe
Curran, this would put SAE J444 in conflict with ISO. If the max-min
values are less confusing and also used by ISO, I would think J444 should
adapt the max-min values as well, and clearly state them in both Tables 1
and 2. I do not have a copy of ISO 6106, so I cannot be certain of the
values in it.

S
S