Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#653 01/17/07 09:12 PM
S
OP Offline
S
Dear Mr.Champaigne,
I have already posted my question on the Specicfications Forum but no one is responding to my question, maybe I confused everyone.
I am not very experienced so I will try to reword my question.
Our machine is a Wheelabrator computerized shot peen machine. We are currently running our conveyer speed at 2" per minute which is how we established our curves. As a test we recently increased the speed to 3" per minute and we are getting excellent coverage and our production would increase signifigently. My question is will this hold up in an audit if we use 2" a minute to prove saturation and intensity using almen strips but run our parts at 3" a minute proving 100% coverage on our parts by visually inspecting them.
My coworker is referencing PSD 6-88 8.4.2 and says that will suffice.
Thank you so much for any information you could give me.
SUE

#654 01/17/07 10:52 PM
J
J
Will it suffice? Possibly. It depends upon how you conducted your saturation curve.
1. If your saturation curve was done properly then you should be ok. This is because the trials for saturation curve are used ONLY for intensity determination, NOT time needed for proper part coverage. If your parts appear to be properly covered with a line speed of 3" per minute then you're in good shape.